The Days are Short

There are those who speak of motherhood with the phrase, “the days are long, but the years are short”; it is a phrase I have heard frequently in the 6 months since I became a mother, and in fact, Gretchen Rubin of The Happiness Project has a video to that very end. I can attest that these last six months appear to have been gobbled up by the crocodile of time, but the days also sweep by all too quickly. Often I complain to The Grizzly Kid at the end of the day that I don’t accomplish half of what I had hoped to because everything is a bit more complicated with Wallaby on my hip, and then he lovingly reminds me that as long as Wallaby is well taken care of nothing else matters. I fancy myself a quick learner, but this concept is one that I need to constantly relearn; in part it doesn’t stick because I obstinately believe that I can do more with my time, I should be able to do it all! But the days are short and though I sometimes feel I have multiple personalities I have yet to learn how to get them to each accomplish something on their own; instead the others leave me feeling short handed. The truth is that goals are great until you overwhelm yourself with a hundred of them. The days are short and so we must focus on the important and simplify the other aspects of our lives, and I choose to spend my time trying to make my baby laugh rather than fretting about what hasn’t been accomplished.

One thought on “The Days are Short

  1. when Claire graduated this week, it seemed surreal that she went to all 4 years of H.S. here. Have we really been in AZ that long? What have we accomplished? What is the next phase of life going to be about? And, what will we look back on that we can feel a sense of accomplishment about in 4 more years? I think I better write some goals down.

Leave a Reply

