DIY Blue Ribbon

I have this problem where I finally get my pictures onto the computer and edited and then just assume that the blog post got written. Here is my belated post on making prize ribbons like you’d win at a fair, or in my case for a family pie contest on the Fourth of July.

DIY Prize Ribbons  I  Wildfire KissesI was originally planning on just buying some, but couldn’t find them anywhere! The morning of the festivities I decided to attempt making my own, and they turned out to be surprisingly simple.

Supplies: 

1 inch ribbon (I used grosgrain)

Cardstock

Stapler

Fabric to match your ribbon

Hot glue gun

 

Directions: 

1. Cut 3, 2.5-3 inch circles from your cardstock. I traced the bottom of a cup and my circles were 2 3/4 inches.

2. Grab a cardstock circle and your ribbon. (I didn’t measure how much ribbon I used, I simply pulled from the spool until I was finished.)  Create a small fold in the ribbon and staple that fold down to the edge of the cardstock circle. Repeat until the circle of ribbon is complete.

IMG_7629

End with the ribbon folded to the back and overlapping the first fold to make it look continuous and so the raw edges of ribbon are visible only on the back. Cut the end of the ribbon and set this circle aside.

3. Grab a second circle and trim to fit inside the ribbon circle while still covering the staple tops. Like so.

IMG_7634

2. Take that slightly smaller circle and cut a circle of fabric about 1/2 an inch wider around than your carstock circle. Like so:

IMG_7635

 

Clearly perfection is over rated.

3.  Use the hot glue to attach the fabric to the back off the circle, making sure to keep the front fabric taunt.

IMG_7636

Just keep folding the fabric over and gluing it down.

IMG_7637

4. Apply hot glue to the back of the fabric covered circle and place on top of the ribbon circle, covering the top of the staples.

IMG_7638

You’ve now completed the hardest parts and are almost done!

5.  Turn your completed ribbon top over and cut a second length of ribbon to attach to the back  leaving the ends as long as you want Overlap the middle of the ribbon to create the angle between the two ribbon ends that you want and hot glue it down.

IMG_7639

 

6. The final step is to simply hot glue the final cardstock circle over the back of the ribbon top giving it a clean and finished look!

IMG_7642

 

There you have it, a prize ribbon that took probably about 25 minutes to make (that’s with a toddler trying to “help”). And just for reference—because I had to look it up—Blue is first place, Red is second, and yellow or white are used for third.

IMG_7645

The white clearly ended up being my favorite, because I ran out of plain white ribbon and used polka dots to finish it off.  Maybe you can have your own pie/costume/pumpkin contest this fall and make your own ribbons!

One thought on “DIY Blue Ribbon

  1. Everyone loved the homemade ribbons. They were so sweet. It was fun to enter a “real contest”.
    Thanks for making the day, one to remember with all the fun carnival events and food.

Leave a Reply

